Administration > Language Support > Multiple Language Authoring
Multiple Language Authoring
You can have more than one language in the same document. There are some differences regarding the way characters are entered and represented for two different languages in the same document. In certain cases, character entities have to be used for one of the languages. Character entities require using keystroke combinations or making selections from a menu or toolbar. Character entities must be declared in your DTD or in the internal subset to be available for use in your document.
You do not need to use character entities when you:
Combine English and any other Western European language in the same document
Combine any non-English language with other languages from the same character set in the same document
For example, you can combine French and Spanish in one document without using character entities. Both languages belong to the ISO 8859-1 or Windows code page 1252 character sets. Another example would be Russian and Serbian.
You must use character entities when you:
Combine two non-English languages from different character sets in the same document
You cannot combine French and Russian in the same document except by using character entities for the language that does not belong to the default character set. French belongs to the ISO 8859-1/Windows code page 1252 character sets, and Russian belongs to the ISO 8859-5/Windows code page 1251 character sets. If you are working in the native French environment, the Russian characters must be represented by character entities. If you are working in the native Russian environment, the French characters must be represented by character entities. You must also have fonts for both languages installed on your workstation.
Path and file name examples are formatted as they appear in the Windows operating environment when the environment is not specified.