Fundamentals > Working with the Model > Layers > Layer Basics > To Deactivate a Layer
To Deactivate a Layer
A layer remains active for the life of the session or until you deactivate it. You can deactivate layers in the following ways:
Delete the setting for the def_layer configuration option.
Rename the active layer. The layer is automatically deactivated.
Deactivate the Layer Manually
You can also deactivate the layer by doing the following:
1. In the Model Tree navigator window click and then click Layer Tree. The Layer Tree opens. All existing layers are listed.
2. Right-click the layer you want to deactivate, and click Deactivate. The layer is deactivated. Any items created or shown after this point will not be automatically placed on the layer.
* If the settings for the def_layer configuration option are changed for the layer that was activated manually, you cannot deactivate such layers.